Lis Pendens

I have a question, as I am new to the pre-foreclosure process; although some experience with HUD/REOs.

I am in the state of Georgia, and am seeing the foreclosure notices listed in the county newspapers. However, when they hit the newspaper it is less than 1 month until the sale at the courthouse. The acting trustees for the debt collection are local law firms

When I went to the courthouse and inquired about the foreclosure filings I was told that they do not see them until they are listed in the newspaper.

My question is, if the foreclosure process is 3 months in this state, why am I not seeing them until less than 1 month till auction, and how can I see them prior to that? Or, was I given the big blow off at the courthouse?

Thanks for the responses!

im not really able to help you with why you cant find it earlier but i maybe able to help you get to them before most investors do…get your self some buisness cards …where im from the local sheriffs serve the papers or the notice of foreclosure to the owners call up and find out who is the server try to offer them something like 500 for every house you close on if they will put your card in with the papers when they serve it to them…just and idea for ya

i believe that was a big blow off. because they are usually updated at least weekly, and it all starts with the default notice.

I operate my business in Georgia, as well. Your summary of the situation is correct and I am equally frustrated.

The law in Georgia is seemingly backwards. By law, the Lenders only obligation is to post notice of the foreclosure sale in a daily newspaper for 4 consecutive weeks and send notice to the H.O., via certified mail, 15 days prior to the aurction date.