Less Than 2 Weeks Til Foreclosure!!!

Hi All:

I have 2 clients that are going to foreclose on their homes by September 8th deadline. They’re both listing with a realtor but running out of time fast. I’m suppose to meet with them today. According to what they say the payoff is, they don’t have much equity. However, according to my research, the equity is there unless they’ve refinanced.

Do I get them to sign a form enabling me to contact the lender to get the needed information? How should I continue this deal???

dlmcgill

Show up prepared with all your documents. I usually have 4 documents:

1. Disclosure - this is just for me. It tells the home-owner that I am not a lawyer, I am not a realtor, that I am in this as a for-profit venture, I am taking over their payments and am not recommending they stop paying their mortgage, utilities, etc., etc., etc… This document is not needed by the bank, it is just for my file.
  2. authorization to release information
  3. purchase contract
  4. List of documents the bank will need. Signatures not needed on this document. This is just to be up-front with them so they don’t freak out if/when you start asking for pay stubs, bank statements, taxes, etc. This also gets them started with a hardship letter. Finally, this gives them a chance to offer the necessary docs right then and there.

Not enough information given to suggest how you could continue the deal. Equity or no equity, short-sales still work. Not a whole lot of time left but still possible. I have stopped the sale on deals where I got involved only 2 days before the sale date. These may (and I stress MAY) be deals where you should walk away. Since it sounds like you are relatively new, your time may be better spent on deals where the sale date isn’t so looming. Only you know the best, so…

Thanks for the info Turborocket.

The details of this possible deal are as follows:

1. Owner paid 350k for house 5 yrs ago