Lease Options vs. Wholesaling

Hi, I am a brand newbie, with warm milk around my mouth, to the real estate investing game. My intention is to focus on either lease optioning or wholesaling for my first year, but I’m having a frustrating time trying to figure out which will be more effective.

Can anyone share some of their personal experiences between the two methods? Also, can anyone suggest a good template to follow for a business plan for real estate investing? Thank you.

SemperFi76

When you’re selling property via a lease-option, you are really just a landlord. Most lease-option buyers do not end up buying the property.

Wholesaling is just a form of flipping.

These are two completely different businesses. So, I’d say that you need to determine what you want to do and what your market will support.

Good Luck,

Mike

I agree with Mike as both are good but very different.

Lease Options are good for someone new to real estate as long as you educate yourself on how to do it. In my experience if done right about 70% of your tenant buyers will actually buy the property.

I like L/O a little better than renting since the folks seem to take a little better care of the property, IF they truly feel that they are working towards owning it some day.

Wholesaling is good to if you have a pretty large buyers list, and or are an expert at marketing your properties. I have friend of mine, Mark Evans, who makes a ton of money each month Wholesaling, but he has been doing it and building his “Buyers list” for almost 10 years.

It is like Mike said it depends on your background and your goals.

Thank you for your comments. Much oblige…