lease options in houston tx

NEED HELP TO LEASE OPTION HOUSE IN HOUSTON

I’m a firefighter in Virginia Beach, Va. with only one investment property in Virginia and need some help since I don’t know a lot of the ins and outs of real estate.

Without going into all the detail and reasons why, I signed the papers for a former friend/former employer to buy a house in Cypress (suburb of Houston). The title is solely in my name and I’m legally responsible for making all payments. He’s living there with his wife/children/mother-in-law and is making rent payments equal to the mortgage payment, but not including the taxes due (just received a $7k tax bill which I can cover but obviously he can’t). He moved in with the intention of being able to purchase the house after a year, and then I could have walked away unscathed.

After reading a lot of posts here I’ve come to the conclusion that the best way out of this mess - just to be able to get my money back since houses aren’t selling now - is to lease option the house, but obviously not to him. I know that technically lease options are illegal in Texas but some here seem to have found lawyers who can actually get it done with the proper contracts.

2 questions:

1. How should I structure this? House is 3500sf, new development, and cost $235k a year ago when it was new. Tax assessment is the same. I assume this would also be close to what the appraised value would come in at now. I’m not sure how much to charge for the option fee, monthly rent, how much of the rent to allow towards the down payment. My monthly payment is high for the loan amount, $xxx per month.

2. About getting the current “tenant” out of the house, there is no signed lease - it’s strictly an oral agreement. Do I have to evict him just as I would another tenant? Can somebody tell me what this would cost to hire a lawyer to have it done for me in Houston?

I’d appreciate anybody’s help on this.