lease option question?

I had a question about lease options. I understand the process up to a point. The part I don’t understand is how you can sell the property when your not on the title (owner) I like the Idea of using LO’s but a little unclear on this.

Also, do any of you have luck lease optioning from a owner in foreclosure? Seems risky relying on the homowner to be responsible for making the payments, and not getting themselves back into the same situation as before you cured the default?

Thanks for your help on this/

DM

Can anyone lend thier advice on this one? Interesting question.

I’m just a newbie myself, but what I believe you can do is this…

Gain control of property with a lease option, make it say 18 months…

Sign a triple-net lease which allows you to basically sublease the property to someone else… make their lease more than yours so you cashflow, sign them up on a 12 month option…

When they are ready to close in 12 months, use their money to close on your option with original buyer…

Hopefully your option price for the new buyer is greater than the option price you paid…Everyone is happy, original owner sells property and has made money off of your lease payments and the sale of their home, you make money off of your tenants lease payments and from the difference in your option price and your buyers, buyer gets a home…

If your tenant falls through, either ask for extension, don’t excersize your option, or just buy the home yourself and start over…

Hope this helps

Guru’s

Please let me know if this is bad info?

Thanks

My target is FSBO and expired MLS listings,

Jason, thanks for the info. Makes sense now.

DM

Basically you can sell what you own. In a lease option you own the RIGHT to buy. So you can sell the right to buy. You’re not actually selling the house because the buyer isn’t buying–yet. When they’re ready to exercise their right to buy, you exercise your right to buy from the seller, and then resell to the buyer.