Lease option and Due on Sale clause

I’m new to lease options, but am enthusiastically doing research. One equestion I am struggling with is how to practically avoid triggering the seller’s DOSC when buying a L/O and setting up a sandwich lease? Any suggestions?

Due on SALE clause. The SALE does not happen until your option is excersised and the home is purchased. If you are leasing with an option to buy the home has not yet been PURCHASED. When it is purchased the loan is paid and satisfied so the DOSC never comes into play.

As Rich said, the Due on Sale Clause shouldn’t be a factor at all. You are simply leasing the property, until and if you decide to exercise your option to purchase. At that time you would get new financing, pay off the existing loan, and be on your way.

The lender may have cause to exercise the DOSC. While the Garn St. Germain Act preempts the DOSC under many circumstances the granting of the option is specifically excluded. Excerpt below:

“a lender may not exercise its option pursuant to a due-on-sale clause upon—
(4) the granting of a leasehold interest of three years or less not containing an option to purchase;”

Hmmmmm…interesting. Not sure how they would find out though.

Keep in mind the Office of Thrift Supervision, the government agency that regulates this area, takes the opinion that the Act only applies to owner-occupied properties.

I’m not familiar with the OTS’s interpretation but the act specifies five or fewer dwelling units so implies small rentals or owner occupied. I agree with Rich, how would the lender ever find out that you signed a lease option?

"(d) Exemption of specified transfers or dispositions