Land Trust

Hello Everyone,

I am not new to investing but I am new to subject to type takeover deals. I have been doing some research and I have come accross the land trust which from my understanding seems to be a safe tool to use in buying subject to.My question for all of you is:

Do any of you use land trusts, if not why?

Thank you. All input would be appreciated.

Never have used one to buy Subject 2… The land trust guys tell you that you have to in order to protect you from the DOSC being accelerated… Hasn’t happened to me yet and I do a ton of Sub2 deals…

Good Investing

Michael Quarles

Land trusts do not protect from the DOSC. The change in the right to occupy the property is the trigger. Do your sub 2 with or without the land trust.

I tend to agree with BLL. The gurus and others latch onto the Garn St. Germain Act which limits a banks ability to accelerate the loan under the DOSC when a property is transfered to a living trust. However, the same section of the act specifically states that a change in occupancy rights voids the exemption.

Well then ladies and gentlemen, what is the answer? If there is one. Im just getting into Subject to and would love to know. Have you ever had a lender get close to calling the loan due? Thanks in advance for your info and Happy Holidays to all…

CHB1,

Glad to meet you.

$Cash$ Sub-2 Deals 500+ … Lenders Calling Loan 0 … Land Trusts Used 0

John $Cash$ Locke

John I bet you read the article about the guy in Ohio who was finded 39k for using a land trust didnt you… Thats right you sent the thing… :slight_smile:

I chatted with Gattons “Main Man” about it and he said the Investor wasnt using it correctly…

And I have noticed that the trust guys are leaning more towards asset protection then DOSC…

Great to meet you sir, You are well respected on this site and around the country as well Im sure. I do appreciate all of your advice on REICLUB and look forward to learning more from you in the future. Happy Holidays… Scott