Land Trust - Your Assets Are Still Known

I did a search for my name, and one of those internet companies pop up asking if I want to know the background, marriages, assets, etc. for $39 to $79.

I was surprised to find my name there when I thought I was protected by putting my property in an LLC and then a Land Trust. How can one avoid being searched by the public. I’m a realtor and it seems like everyone looks to see if I have property, and they somehow seem to speak freely with me about my property in another state. It seems like it is common place to look at someone’s background and see if they own property - whether you date, have a new friend or anything.

Try searching your name and see what pops up. It had ALL my previous addresses, my age, and that was without paying - it’s just out there for everyone to know. Even my current address. How can we erase all this free info to the public? Anyone know?

Try USsearch.com or whitePages.com. Your age and all your addresses are right there.

Yep, everywhere you had a telephone number published in a telephone directory provides a pretty good trail of bread crumbs

Welcome to the 21st century. You leave a trail of information, all public, when you move, get a phone number or a driver license. That’s all whitepages is doing, searching a vast database of this information and returning any hits with your name.

I learned at a Rich Dad seminar that if you want total annonimity, you need to go to Nevada for a corporation or llc. Also a good state for a trust (but I learned that from working in a bank trust dept (NY)).

It was inferred that Nevada was heavily influenced by the Mafia and that they have enough influence over the state government that they can insure that identities are not divulged!

It also comes to mind if you have used a name for your company, don’t use the same name if you decide to file in Nevada because that will lead a trail right back to you!