land trust and llc question

i’m new to land trusts and liability protection but very interested in it.

seems like setting up a land trust with the beneficary as a LLC and a nonprofit or attorney as the trustee is how some are recommending it.

My question is that if I’m from California and buying property out of state, if I create a Nevada LLC to be the beneficary, am I doing business in California and need to pay the min $800 franchise tax? Although the LLC is not actually doing business in California.

I could then create another LLC as the property management company to manage all the properties?

That can get expensive if you plan to go the route of 1 property per LLC.

thanks for any help.
James

JC,

As to the LLC issue, Professor Wagner will answer you, I’m sure. He is an experienced and knowledgeable CPA.

As to the Trustee, don’t assume picking an attorney is a good idea. Here’s why:

1. Using one’s own attorney would perhaps not pose a problem as long as no other unrelated beneficiaries were involved who would have separate and independent interests and financial objectives within the arrangement.

2. An individual trustee’s failure to charge a fee would not support the land trust’s validity in court. The attempt to charge a fee would not be seen as adequate unless the party were a bonded entity.

3. An attorney or law firm would most likely not be bonded as a trustee for land trusts; though his/her malpractice insurance may suffice as protection against malfeasance and/or errors and omissions.

4. An attorney or law firm would likely not be recognized as a bona fide trust holding institution by any court that would be challenging the integrity and purpose of a co-beneficiary land trust title transfer.

5. One’s own attorney would not create a mutually trusted, unbiased third-party “escrow” entity. A biased attorney (acting in primary favor of a client) could wreak havoc in a contest involving dissention between/among beneficiaries.