Just Starting Out

Hello Everyone:

I am just starting out and would like to get my feet wet with rehabbing some junkers to rent out the sell as cash-flow properties.

However, my credit is <515 and I have no cash or credit…

I have a friend that has done home building for years.

How can I get into the game?
P.S. some of the properties I would like to keep.

Hi Sharon,

The first thing you should focus on is improving your credit. I believe that you need at least 670 and above to get any decent terms on financing. It is not that hard to improve your credit. You need to make sure that you pay all your bills on time and pay off whatever debt you have. I think that in general on credit cards your utilization should be below or around 10% of your credit limit. Above this in utilization and your credit score will hurt.

In terms of real estate, you should start networking with landlords and rehabbers in your area, find out what their buying criteria are and if they are still buying. If they do, go out and find distressed homes and desperate home owners, put the property under contract and sell (assignment of contract) to other investors. You should be able to make 2-5K per successful transaction and pay down your debts. This is referred to as “Bird dogging” and can be a great way in to real estate investing. Do a search on this forum (Bird Dogs and Wholesaling) you will be able to find all the information you need to get started.

In today’s economy it is really hard to get started without money or credit.

I don’t want to discourage you but rather paint a realistic picture.

Good luck,
Tex

Get 3 jobs and save as much money as you can! Improve your credit as indicated. That will make things much easier on you.

Hello Sharon,