Just starting out

I’m completely new to investing. My background is in commercial architecture, general contracting, and construction management. I do not own any investment properties right now, just my primary residence. I would like some advice in getting started.

There are so many investment strategies out there, which ones should I look into given my current situation. I’ve been reading up of different strategies, but none actually tell you how much you need to get started. They just assume you have the money, so I’d like to hear from people that do it. I have free cash per month now, my credit is great so financing is no problem, but I don’t have money to put down on places currently. So which strategies can be covered by just financing. or little money down?

Some places near me are on the general market well below the assessed value, and maybe this is a way to get money to put down, by moving (since we’re looking anyway), then doing a refi or HELOC and pulling out some equity.

Also, what could you point me to to learn more about contracts, rehab item ROIs (knowing what’s most to least important), and taxes (keeping the most profits)? Websites, posts, books? Where’s the best, straight to the point, down to earth advice on these?

I know I’m asking a lot. Thanks in advance.

Jamie

Jamie,

Here are my thoughts on your questions. First, you have found this incredibly good site, REI CLUB, with a huge breadth and depth of investors who make their living in real estate. You are lucky! There are many paths. As far as I know I am the only one who exclusively rents out furnished homes. There are hands-off cash investors, rehabbers, landlords of all kinds, Realtors, attorneys, CPA’s, lenders.

1. You can not yet know what part of real estate will be the most enjoyable for you. Begin by spending 1-2 hours every day reading this site. You can click on the bottom of the page and follow many threads back for months. This is your free home study course with mentors.