It's a Family Affair!

Hello,

I am new to investing and am trying to purchase a rental property (duplex or 4plex) in Texas.

I’m buying the property with my Dad and my brother. Everyone will put an equal amount down and my brother will more than likely live in a unit (since he’s in college, this will work out great for him).

Do we form an LLC or Corp? If we do, how do we secure financing? How do they check credit and such? Or do they check the credit on each member and then give the financing to the LLC??

Thanks for your time!
Andrea

This is a simple one. Place the property in a land trust and assign beneficiary interests in proportion to your contributions. Put your brother and other tenants in a triple net lease. Make sure your Trustee is a non-profit corporation.

As an aside, you are really asking for trouble going into a financial arrangement with your family. I would NEVER do this unless I had such protection as is afforded by a trust – and I still would probably not do it because of the bad feelings that would inevitably result in the event of a default. Good luck.

Da Wiz

Thank you for your insight! This is a ton of help.

How would I go about setting up a Land Trust? And how do I find a non-profit beneficiary? Isn’t it hard to find someone that will rent on a triple net lease? I know that I probably wouldn’t have done that when I was renting…??

Also, I know that there is definitely a risk in doing business with family. However, I really want to get them started in real estate investing. I’m starting out…and I’m getting them to start out with me so that they feel there is less of a risk. After this first purchase, I’m hoping to buy another one in the same area by myself (so that my brother can manage my property as I will be out of state!).
Thanks for your advice and knowledge!

Angela,

Would you have rented on a triple net lease in response to an ad like this?: