Is rehabbing that big of a headache?

I am kinda new to investing but not really. I did a deal before in IL. It didn’t turn out so well but I learned exactly what I did wrong. I basically was looking to flip in a rental neighborhood. It was a very rough neighborhood. (an investor ended up buying) Sorry for the long mail

I don’t know why the heck I would think anyone would want to but there.lol But believe me it wasn’t a funny process.

I can laugh now though. I have my bearings back and I’m in AL now with a HML in place. I’m ready to go again. The rehab team we had was great. HML was terrific. Realtor excellent. But there was nothing we could do to make any1 move there.

Anyway, my credit score is lower now because of that deal so I can’t even think of a refi. I don’t want to “wait” with the flipping thing because that is a headache waiting for a buyer. So what would you do. Also, if I’m not mistaken, AL is a serious buyers market. Any thoughts?

you can make a lot of money rehabbing, but it requires the right skills: excellent project management, adaptability, ability to fund holding costs. Helps if you can do-it-yourself to save money. Probably a few others I left out.

If you don’t have these skills, you’re probably better off doing rentals or assignments or something. There’s still plenty of room under the real estate umbrella to find something you’re comfortable with and good at.

Personally, I like rehabs; a real feeling of accomplishment.

My first few rehabs were the toughest, especially the very first one.

First I had to find the deal of the decade. I was also in a buyers market so I had to be prepared for extra holding costs. It took me 2 months to find the property. After writing an earnest money check I was left with less than $200 dollars to my name. Luckily I found a HML who would include closing costs and holding costs into the L/A provided it did not exceed 65% of the ARV.