Is Landlording Hard or Do People Just Make it Hard

I was wondering (as I have a management background) Is landlording really all that hard or is it just a matter of inexperienced investors building false expectations and creating a lot of their own problems. I would think, minus ignorance of the law, there are a lot of issues that do not have to arise if the investor was forward thinking and really qualified their prospective tenants?

cdrei,

Who told you it was hard? IT’S FUN AND A GREAT WAY TO MAKE NEW FRIENDS!

Mike

I thought it would be, but you know all the stories out there from the …destroyed my rental to the took me to court and then the boyfriend with the pitbull moved in and on and on. You know what I mean. I’m a Realtor and have seen some pretty great SFH deals that would possibly cash flow at about $100-150 each. So I’m thinking 20 rentals would be my goal. My wife is a RN and could help with the cash flow issue if needed. Am I thinking right or am I all wet? I live in a very rent demanding area that is mostly rural small townships so the labor for any issues that I couldn’t handle would be cheap. I can do all except foundations, MAJOR plumbing and electrical. Everyones input is greatly appreciated:)

cd,

I was trying to be funny with my above post. The truth is that all of the landlording nightmare stories you’re heard are true. The truth is also that the vast majority of tenants are fine (if you thoroughly screen them). In my experience, about 90% of the tenants are no problem at all. There is always about 10% of the tenants that have some issues, including the 1% per month that I evict (or otherwise use leverage to kick out).

It sounds like you have a good approach. Starting with single family houses will give you time to adjust to all the nonsense and stupidity. Over time, you’ll get numb to all the drama.