IS IT POSSIBLE TO AVOID A CLOSING COST WHEN..?

Hi Everyone,

My name is Sid and I live in Detroit/Michigan. I am very new in real estate world, have a very little knowledge about real estate (read a couple of books) but I do have a very strong interest and desire to learn anything that needs to be learned about the subject.
I have found myself in one somewhat confusing situation – at least for me. Here is what is happening; my brother and I own a house for about four years. Since my credit was weak, at the time we were buying a house, he had to be a primary carrier of the mortgage, and, of course, I was a secondary carrier – should I say “secondary borrower”. Now, my brother has a plan to get married and, of course, he wants to move out and get his own house. Now, my/our question is:
Is it possible to take my brother’s name of the title and still leave my name on the title, but this time as a primary carrier of the mortgage – and doing all this without appraising and refinancing the house again? This way, I would just continue paying the mortgage? I hope I did not make this question too confusing. Any suggestions are very welcome and appreciated. Thank you very much in advance!

Sid.

ps: this forum is a great source of info – you guys are great – thanks again!!!

There are 2 issues.

1. Removing your brother from title

You can get your brother off title by having him sign a quit claim deed and transferring his ownership interest in the property to you. However, in doing this you may violate a due on sale / transfer clause in your mortgage as title will be altered.

1. Removing your brother as primary borrower. You definately need your lender’s permission on this one.

Hi Jaret,