Investing sub2 as a real estate agent

If anyone here is a real estate agent, I’d like your thoughts on presenting offers on foreclosure properties that are listed in the MLS. I’m wondering if I should take the time to talk to the agent about it first, or just write it up, have the agent present the offer to the seller, and explain later. What do you think?

I’m not an agent, but I may be able to help answer the question.

First, though, are you talking about pre-foreclosures or REO? And are you an agent yourself? And if you’re an agent, are you talking about writing up offers for your clients or for yourself?

Sorry, I should’ve been clear: I am a real estate agent, and I want to invest in preforeclosures I see listed on the MLS.

I would talk to the agent and present it as follows:

I need to discuss the sale directly with the owner, the agent can be present if he likes (he probably should). What I am mainly interested in is buying it on owner finance with the back payments as my down payment. Being a preforeclosure, time is short and I am probably the seller’s best option because I can move quick and the agent should not block a sale on a preforeclosure because of the poor seller… Since the seller’s agent expects a commission, I will pay him 1-2% to release the listing contract and allow me to close on it myself quickly.

I have to think that there’s an issue with two Realtors being involved in a sale where a violation of the due on sale clause exists.

Also, who will close the deal? I can do kitchen table settlements all day with just me and the owner, but a seller with a Realtor is probably looking for a more traditional settlement, no?

Seems like you’re risking your license, aren’t you? If the seller decides they don’t like the idea that their loan wasn’t paid off, couldn’t that come back to haunt you?

As long as everything is disclosed to the seller (which I always do in plain language in all my docs), there’s no risk to losing the license.