Investing Locations

Hi all,

I live in NYC and I am thinking about investing in Albany. I am new to real estate investing and want to minimize pitfalls. Does it make sense to invest in properties that are 2 hours away?

Should I start local and then once I am more experienced look into properties that are further away.

Thanks!

What about places like southern CT as well? You might find some good deals in Bridgeport and New Haven.

Starting local is a great way to learn values and your market area. When you start making $1000 an hour per deal , then it doesn’t seem bad to drive 2 hours for a deal.
Darin

Hi REINYC,

I think it is smart to start local so you don’t expose yourself to risk associated with markets you are not familiar with.

I totally agree with starting in an area you are familiar with.

reinyc,

I would strongly suggest starting close to home. The vast majority of newbies fail in a short period of time even with the properties in their own back yard. Trying to do it long distance only adds to the problems.

Regardless of where you invest, run the REAL WORLD numbers to see if the deal works. WIth REI, it’s ALL ABOUT THE NUMBERS!

Mike

It’s a common belief to start close to home because that’s what enough people say to do for it to become a common belief.

The issue here is due diligence. I know phenomenally successful investors who invest far from home. I also know phenomenal failures that stick to their back yard. Regardless of where you invest, be it your own neighborhood or Taiwan, you must do your due diligence or you will become shark bait.

Tim

The distance from the property to you doesn’t really matter that much in my opinion. You would rather invest somewhere further away with higher annual cash flow.