Intro & ? About Determining Equity

Hi all! Newbie here. I love this site and have learned a lot from the archives. :slight_smile: I am in Central Florida, and am currently an Assistant Principal of an Elementary School…my SO is also an AP, but of a middle school. We have been reading books, listening to a course, looking at real estate in our area to get familiar with it, etc. We’ve visited a tax deed auction last week and will sit in on a foreclosure auction this week just to see what it is like. I have been researching the foreclosures in my area because I can get online with the Clerk of Court and see the NODs and LP, etc. Then I can pull up the Property Appraiser’s web site and get the address, lot size, bed/bath info, tax info, what it sold for in the past, etc. I can go back to the Clerk of Court and look for mortgages, leins, etc. that have been recorded on the property. It is so interesting…

Here’s my question: Once I find a property near my home and in an area I know, how can I tell if it has enough equity in it to pursue the property?

I have been looking at a few things to try to determine this…(original mortgate date and amount, any leins / 2nd mortgages against the property) but figure it is not very reliable until I actually talk to the homeowner… Am I wrong?

I think this is a specific question to Florida residents: When doing a preliminary search online at the Clerk of the Court, how can you tell if a mortgage or lein has been satisfied? Is a “Release” the only recorded document and, if so, if there is no release…does that mean the lein is still on the property?

I hope I make sense…I’m pretty green, as you can tell. Hope someone can help me out! :slight_smile:

Thanks!
Jay

Howdy JRO: