Insurance question

Hi all,
I’ve just very recently formed an LLC for purposes of title vesting on a future rehab project…
Here’s my question: while I know to have a builder’s risk policy w/ umbrella coverage, should I also buy a workman’s comp rider? The several GC’s I’ve talked to don’t carry any workman’s comp insurance for their subs. Alternatively, can getting the GC and each sub to execute a liabilty waiver serve the same purpose - protect my personal a** and assets? While I know I have a degree of personal asset protection from the corporate veil afforded by an LLC, I’m uneasy w/ this situation as even successfully defending a frivolous suit against the LLC can be an expensive pain, thanks to the ambulance-chasing types of lawyers who file these things.
Thanks in advance,
David

great question. sorry i don’t readily have an answer - i’m interested in the responses you get.

The key to contracting is risk transfer, as you know. It’s a shame you’re using a GC that doesn’t require his subs to carry at least limits equal to his policy but unfortunately they usually don’t care. If one of the subs gets hurt, you’ll be named in the suit for owner’s/job site negligence. Depending on your state, this can get ugly.

If you haven’t gone into contract with the GC yet…ask them to get you an OCP policy in your LLC name. They pay for the limits and no one can touch them but you. It’s reasonable and protects the job/you from claims up to the policy limit ($1mm). If you’re already in the contract, you may be screwed unless you want to cancel the job and get a new GC.

Why aren’t you working with an agent that knows about this stuff? Not having any underlying insurance opens everyone up for a payday.

gsuidiot,
Thanks for the reply and info…Fortunately, I’m not in contract w/ any GC, nor have I actually contacted an agent - what prompted my question was prepping for a future project and this is one of the many bases to cover…