In need of advice on first deal

Hey guys, first time invester here.
I found a deal on a first rental property, and was hoping I could get a second opinion from you guys.
It’s a two floor, 2br/2bath, 2178sqft single family house in good condition with many amenities(patio,pool,ect), and also happens to be very close to the beach. Taxes are around $6000. The ad says $140,000 neg, but I feel that I should bring the price down.

First off, being 20yo with minimal built credit, I don’t think I’d be able to get a mortgage (correct me if I am wrong). That leads me to my next point, which is: If I offer cash, is it likely that I could use that to talk them down?

Despite being a complete beginner, I want to make an investment and start learning the ropes,and the only way for me to do that is to make an move while trying to avoid any bad decisions, so I’d really appreciate any advice.
Thanks!
-Craig

1. Where is this?

2. Why are the taxes on a $140K house so high?

3. Is there a home owner association fee? How much?

4. What would this house rent for in your area?

Keith

1. The house is located in long island, NY.

2. The area has notoriously high property tax, but that seems to be rather unavoidable if I want to buy in the same county that I live in.

3. I don’t believe there is a HOA. That is definitely a question for me to bring up during the next meeting, but no community amenities would lead me to believe that there isn’t.

4. My best estimation by looking at local houses for rent would average between 1-2k a month.

So the house has a pool, not the community?

You need to know all of these things going in…

You also need a firmer appreciation for what rents properties will command…a $140K house with $6000 in taxes, plus insurance commanding $1K in rent will eat you up with negative cashflow.

With rental properties, cashflow is king.

Keith