In dire need of real estate advice...

Hello all,

My name is Samuel G and I am new to the real estate investing game. That aside, I own a house in the Las Vegas area with approximately $50,000 in equity. However, my loan is for $381,000, I am in to it for $42,000, but the builder is offering the competing model homes at $300,000, thus not allowing me to refinance, or do much else. I have a family renting the unit, paying approximately 60% of the mortgage each month but I am curious if anyone happens to have any advice to fix this situation short term.
Thank you kindly,
Samuel

You own a house with a mortgage of 80 000$ above market value.

There is no easy cure for the number one mistake in real estate and that is buying it wrong.

I understand that, and I am trying to explore many options but do you have any clear cut recommendations?
Samuel

Recommendations depend on your personal financial situation.

1. Keep the house, make the payments.

2. Quit paying the mortgage, let it go into default, see if the lender will take a deed in lieu of foreclosure.

3. Negotiate with the lender to allow a short sale (lender accepts less than amount owed) then sell the house.

4. Negotiate with the lender to reduce the payments to the 60% same as rent.

Others are way more experienced in short sales and foreclosures. If I were in your shoes I would see a real estate attorney and get advice on how this will impact your credit. Then I would contact the lender and try to resolve it with their help.

FurnishedOwner

If payments are current, there is no way in hell a lender will ever negotiate some sort of short sale.

If income is stable, there is no way in hell they will accept payments to be less.

You can try… but I wouldn’t bet on it.

You are left with option 1 and option 2.

The option that won’t ruin your credit is to wait it out. The market goes down, and then it goes up again. So your house at some point will again be worth what you paid for it.