Immediate concern

Tomorrow at 8:30 I go to make my first offer.

It is a bank owned property. The place has been on the market for 8 months and not sold. They recently lowered the asking price since according to the agent nobody had made an offer yet. I am offering 16.5 with a 7 day close, all cash. The asking price is 30,000 (40,000 yesterday). I can go as high as 24.5 and still ensure (using conservative estimates of improvements as this is my first time) that I make at least 5k cash (after a home equity loan) and still maintain 15K equity in actual equity on the house AND cash flow between 200 and 400 a month (depending on section 8). Good deal right???

IMPORTANT QUESTION BELOW!!!

What stipulations do I put into a normal real estate (contract (through a large real estate brokerage) to ensure that I am able to back out if I find things in the walls/foundation/roof that I did not expect?

I am using the listing agent in hope that he will be motivated to be done with the property, make double commission, and hook me up with future bank properties.

Someone please let me know about anything specific. I know this is a little late to be asking, but I decided to jump in today and after contacting the agent I was unable to get in touch with my mentor/cousin.

Thanks for the wisdom as always

It sounds like you are approaching this the right way. I will tell you that REO properties usually require you to use the lenders contracts. You can submit your offer on the standard realtor forms of the broker, but even if they accept your price they will require you to use their purchase contracts. They don’t usually let you have contingiences so if anything major comes up and you back-out, you may loose your earnest money.

Wish you the best. Making offers is a good thing!