I'm a total newbie at REI and have a question about buying a foreclosure.

First of all, I’ve come into a rather large sum of money and have decided to get into the real estate investing game. I’ve been following the public notices and I have found a couple of properties I think would be good investments and I could flip them in a short period of time.

Here’s the rub. I know nothing about buying at a trustee sale. I’ve been researching and actually decided to go down to the county courthouse a couple of times just to watch the process. Problem was, no one ever showed up. I sat there and waited for the attorneys and the realtors and other investors to show up and no one ever did.

I figured that the loan was cured and so the house was no longer on the auction block. The next time I decided to go the courthouse, I decided to call the offices of the trustees to make sure certain properties were still being sold that day at the specified time. I didn’t get much in the way of answers and was told their website had all the information. Again, I showed up at the courthouse and saw no one else. Later that evening, I checked the website of the trustee and found that the property I had been interested in had actually sold.

How did I miss it? What am I doing wrong? Is there a good, reliable book that I should read that will help me in this process?

My other question has to do with these organizations that sell forclosure lists. Are any of this organizations reputable? Is it worth to buy a list or become a member of one of these places to receive monthly listings?

Thanks in advance for any answers and suggestions!

If you came into some money, don’t you think it would be better to lend it to a seasoned investor at 10%, and just sit on your ass getting paid for doing nothing, rather than risk it all in an undertaking that you may know nothing about?