Im a Newbie who needs advice

I just started wholesaling. I found a property in my area that has had some fire damage. ARV is approx. $60k. I viewed the property and it needs insulation, sheet rock, cleaning out…everything. The owner has put a new roof on property, which is about 4 years old. He has also rewired property. Owner is asking $10k for the property. Is that a feasible number to work with? If not, What should my asking price be? What number should I not go above in terms of asking price? Thanks for your assistance.

Hi,

If the "After Repair Value" (ARV) / "Fair Market Value" (FMV) is $60k then the wholesale price for pristine condition property with no deferred maintenance is $42k. 

Now you have an opportunity to buy this property for $10k however there is more to this so let’s look at the numbers:
Now this is looking at this property from your buyers perspective who will sell to an end buyer retail at a $60,000 dollar sale.

$60,000 ARV / FMV
<$18,000> 30% Investor Wholesale Percentage
<$5,100> End Buyer Sales Cost Realtor Commission (6%) plus Escrow / Title Insurance Cost (2.5%)
<$10,000> Purchase Price
<$200> Purchase Escrow Buyers Closing Cost

$26,700 Available Rehab and Holding Cost Capital

$36,900 Is the budget for purchase, closing and rehab / holding cost budget
$950 Monthly Carrying cost at 18% plus utility / insurance budget

$36,900 Financed / Personal Capital @ 18%
<$10,000> Purchase Price
<$200> Buyer Closing Cost 2%
<$5,700> Holding Overhead Cost’s (Interest, Utilities, Insurance, Etc.)

$21,000 Actual Rehab Budget Available

Now $21k is about $21 per square foot for a 1000 sq. ft. home or $10.50 per sq. ft. for a 2000 sq. ft. home.

Now the most cost effective carpet I use is $13.50 a yard installed with 1/2 inch pad which is $1.50 per sq. ft.
Now painting interiors is probable $2 per sq. ft. for white ceilings, colored walls with white trim. (Includes materials.)