I'm a newbie -- so maybe somebody can convince me this eBay land listing's legit

Hi everyone,

I’ve been lurking this site for a couple of months and love it so far. I wanted to post here tonight to get some input from those of you who’ve been in the trenches for a while.

I do a lot of “window shopping” on eBay just to see what people are up to - the other week I came across a listing for 4.92 acres in Las Vegas advertised as a “vacant mill site”. Now, maybe this is just the paranoid newb in me, but could there possibly be any more red flags for a scam here?

1. Seller offers no real parcel number (took me an hour to find it on the county website)
  2. Offers quitclaim deed
  3. Low feedback rating
  4. Scandalously low, no-reserve starting bid
  5. Wrong category (would be more appropriate in Real Estate>Land)
  6. Ambiguous Title (“Las Vegas NV” - really?)

The link to the auction: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Las-Vegas-NV-/261133911775?nma=true&si=03lZpuc%2Fhk5fqcsZWDWmdmdgOi8%3D&orig_cvip=true&rt=nc&_trksid=p2047675.l2557

My findings (which I forwarded to him): http://trweb.co.clark.nv.us/WEP_summary.asp?Parcel=138-28-401-015

I reported him to eBay for fraud (they did nothing) and I also let him know. Tonight he writes me to say that I need to learn how to do a title search and go to college. :beer At least I’ll get to play some beer pong if I go back, haha.

Thoughts from anyone on this auction and seller?

Hi,

This gentleman is selling a "Mining Claim" which is a commercial property!

This is not land for residential use! It is in the correct category on Ebay which is why Ebay will not change it and it definently is not Fraud as Nevada is in fact a Mining state called the Silver State!!!

GR

:anon So it IS time for more college… Hahaha. I see…So why didn’t he just write that in the description? Interesting nontheless, thank you for the info!

As a follow-up question then - do you think it’s worth that 12K that it sold for?

Hi,