If you had $500,000

Hi, I’m a newbie. I would like to ask you guys. If you had $500,000 but you can’t use mortgage loans, what would you do? what would be the best way to invest in real estate? Sorry for my poor English skill… Thanks in advance.

I’d keep my $500,000 in my pocket and invest with either other people’s money or use strategies that don’t require large outlays of cash.

It really depends on your market, and how much you want to manage your own properties. If I started with $500k cash, I would buy lower and lower middle income properties at bargain prices.

I’d build a portfolio of subject-to properties, purchase or develop a self storage facility, and do commercial land development.

Thanks everyone :smile

I heard that cash buyers can get properties in cheaper prices, but if you can not use loans, the money will run out one day. Should I do fix and flip to get enough money to buy new property?

My goal is to get a 2 bed 1 bath room in Barcelona for my second house but I don’t want to use all of my money on it. I want to make steady cash flow first.

learn how to invest on a shoe string budget before even thinking about $500,000 being used. if you know what you are doing, that 500k can make you a good bit of money. if you dont, you will lose it.

I am with AJ . I would also keep that money safe for hard times.
Doing business is good when it is done with other peoples money.
Because in property there are less chances to get outlaid!

Thanks a lot. You guys changed my mind. I almost ended up purchasing a $400k condo in NY but now I’m thinking having a foreclosure property under $200k in a growing city like Austin, then I would try to find mortgage lenders who accept the property as collateral.

I’m still wondering whether it would better to buy an apartment in Barcelona without thinking too much because that’s my purpose, my goal but other part of mind is saying it is an unwise act.