If I become an agent, any problems?

I’m new to REI and would feel much more comfortable doing it if I was a licensed agent. My question is, would this create any undesireable consequences when it came time to approach people on buying their property and then either flipping or wholesaling? I know some people don’t like to deal with agents. Would I have to disclose that I’m an agent even if I’m just representing myself? I’m in California.

D,
Buy the book, take the course, learn the stuff they teach realtors. Then do yourself a favor; do NOT take the license exam. If you are a realtor, you must disclose that you are a realtor. Why do it ?
Good luck,
Ray

Hi:

I’m an agent in Florida, and we do have to disclose that we are an agent in any transaction. Even if we are listing property for a relative, we will disclose that “agent is relative of seller”.

Another thought, as an agent, you must follow the “Do Not Call” rules. I don’t know how it affects individual investors, but agents cannot contact people on the “do not call registry” unless we have a bonafied customer who wants to make an appointment to see that particular house. If we do not follow rule, it’s a $10K penalty!

I think you could gain alot of knowledge just from researching the articles on this website and reading. Real estate school (at least in NE FL) does not get into how to exactly fill out contracts and what contingencies to include or how to fill out seller/buyer cost sheets. It covers agency ethics, agency/brokerage requirements, understanding deeds, etc. We all call it the seven-day intense course of everything we can get sued for while holding a RE license! The day-to-day training happens after you have your license and you join an agency. You then go through contract, marketing, etc. training.

Good luck!