I think I made a mistake!!!

Hello everyone,

I was a REAL beginner when I purchased my first property, an out of state duplex. I hired a property manager and received $80 dollars a month in positive cash flow. Since then my 1st mortgage jumped 1% every six months. What was first a 6.7% rate is now 8.7%!!

The house is not in an appreciating neighborhood (maybe about 3-4% a year). I can’t take out a HELOC because its non-owner occupied and a 75% loan to value won’t give me any cash.

What should I do? Any wise advise from you pros? ???

Refinance to a fixed rate NOW!!!

Worst case is that you’ll need up with a small negative cashflow. But with a fixed mortgage amount, you can steadily increase the rents so that you’ll be able to come out in the long run.

Next best option, SELL. Lick your wounds and move on.

Raj

Thanks… I feel terrible - it was my first buy! I tried calling the broker that made the deal. When he first told me about it he swore that we would refinance - for free - after six months. After 8 months of calling him with no action I see that I should not go through with anything before I sign.

Thanks for the advice - I don’t see anything else I could possibly do except maybe offering one of the renters a lease to purchase option.

Same ol’ motto, live and learn!

Hi there again,

Well, I called a bank to refinance and basically told them that the property was my second home… needless to say I feel bad about this as it is not a second home and I have no intention of ever living there. But I can’t get a non-owner occupied loan because I need 20-30% equity into it.

So, the bank said no based on the fact that it is a duplex and because one side is rented they have no loans for a second home that has two units.

So… where does that leave me now? :-\

Any ideas on who to go to to refinance? And do you think its ok to continue with the “second home” story???