I need some advice---Please!!

Hello–

I am new to this forum, but it seems like it’s a pretty informative place. I am new to REI- as a matter of fact, I know absolutely nothing about it. I know it can be a great way to make money, but you can also lose money if you’re not careful. If anyone can offer me some advice on a situation I’m in, I would greatly appreciate it…and please forgive me for not using or knowing the correct real estate terminology…I will have to use Layman’s terms…which is funny b/c my last name is actually Layman ;D

Anyway, here’s the situation:
I have the opportunity to purchase a home for only $8,000. It is a small house, but it needs a lot of work. The owner, (who is a friend of a friend) doesn’t want the house anymore and wants to get it off his hands asap. The place is definitely a disaster, I haven’t hired a professional inspector, but looking at it myself, I know it needs a lot of work. I’m guessing maybe about 30-35k at least. Being that I’m new at this, I don’t want to take on a project that’s too big for me to handle. But on the other hand, I’m thinking, $8,000 for a house! I mean if it’s still standing, there’s some hope for it right? And if I purchase it and decide it’s too much for me to handle I can always sell it to an experienced investor or rehabber. My dilemma is I’m thinking about going for it and using my own money to purchase and rehab it. I have about $66,000 in savings and I know that this will probably be more than enough to fund this project. Is it a mistake to use all of my money on this? I truly believe that I can make a decent profit. The other houses in the area sell for about 80-85k. I’m 25 years old and I do want to invest in real estate and now is the perfect time for me to start. I’m just wondering if its crazy to use my savings for this. What do you all think?