I need edgamacated!

Hey everyone, I’m the new guy!
I just found this site by accident really, and am very intrigued by what I’ve read so far! Let me give you some background on myself that might enable you to better understand and answer some of my many questions!
I live in Ohio. I own and occupy a two family house that I purchased four years ago. My brother-in-law is a very successful real estate appraiser who took over the family realtor business as a youth. He and I have discussed on numerous occations on partnering up to find and do deals on homes and land. INcluding but not limited to, flipping homes and buying to rehab for profit. Much to my disappointment, we have yet to do it and I am at the point where I am ready to move on without him. Now here is my dillema. I do not have the capitol, or the connections that he has.
Here are some of my questions that I hope some of you can help me with.
I realize these may seem trivial, but I am new to this and am eager to learn! Please feel free to redirect me if I ask redundent questions. I searched the forums for a couple of hours, but still have questions!

1. Can someone with little to no capitol really get started in this business?
    Or is that a marketing ploy to get my $39.95?
  2. I had a bankruptcy discharged a little over two years ago. It was mostly due to credit card debt. I kept my house and truck. I’ve since re-established my credit and have purchased a new truck at 1.9% and currently have a beacon score of 670.(fair) Is it possible for someone in my situation to even consider doing this business???
  3. If so, what direction should I go in? Where should I start?
  4. What literature can I purchase that will explain stuff like: Subject2, Lease options, wholesaling and what not.
  5. Any one know of any websites that list tax sale property for Ohio?

Thanks a ton folks, I really appreciate the time and thought I hope you will give me.