HUGE lesson learned!! Real estate agents doing Short sales: Must Read!

As a real estate agent, my plan was to

1. Find a preforeclosure and list it at a reduced price on the MLS
  2. Take all offers that I get
  3. Get the bank to accept the lowest offer
  4. Once I get the approval at the lowest price, have an investor buy it cash and make my commission
  5. Then present the investor with the highest offer, and let him make the margin

Example:
Homeowner owes $300k.
I list the property for $250k
I get offers ranging from $220k-$270k
I only present the bank with a $220k cash offer for a quick close
Bank accepts the $220k offer
I have an investor buy it $220k cash and flip it to the $270k via double close
I make the commission on $220k, investor makes the margin
This is done through a double close, same day.

But I learned that this is illegal to do as a real estate agent. My fiduciary responsibility doesn’t allow me to have the bank accept the lowest offer and hold onto the highest offer and present it to the investor.

So how do I work around this?? Basically, I can’t make money on margins in short sales as a real estate agent!! I was told that you can only take this approach if you DON’T have your real estate license, but then how do you find buyers if the property isn’t listed???

-very, very, very upset agent :banghead

Let’s say you as a License Agent list the property at market value on the MLS.
After 2 months no one makes an offer or even sees the property.
You send the lenders your own short sale discounted offer wish they take you flip it to a buyer and make the margin no commission. You disclosures in all your documents that you are a Transaction Broker and a investor. Everyone happy.
What’s wrong with that? Property is going to foreclosure.