HUD QUESTION

Hi,

I am new to HUD home investing and wanted to know if anyone out there has information that they would like to share. Most of the homes that I am interested in are either out of state or several hours away within my own state. I wanted to know if it is possible to see the home in order to inspect and see the condition. I only see the listings for a few days so I can’t seem to time it right to take a look at it before it’s gone. How are the rest of you working with HUD homes? Also does anyone know what a 203K is? Is it financing from HUD?

Are HUD homes in your opinion a good investment? Are they normally asking market value or are they normally being offered under market value?

Any help would be greatly appreciated?

Thanks,
Hinestro ???

hinestro,

I recently purchased a HUD here in Louisiana. It is possible to see the properties. You need to find a HUD qualified agent in the area where the property is located. They will be knowledgeable about the process and will have the “HUD key”…(HUD doesn’t use lock boxes in this area).

You only see the listings for a few days because that’s usually about how long they last. Here is how it works:

(1) The HUD property is listed for sale (go to http://www.hud.gov/homes/index.cfm for further explanation and state-by-state listings). Here in this area the new homes are normally posted on Thursday.

(2) For nine calendar days the priority purchasers are those that will owner-occupy the property (they are buying the house to live in).