Hud Homes..can u get around owner occupancy

i’m a newbie. Looking at some hud homes but u can’t bid unless it will be your primary residence.

You are correct on the initial period they take bids from owner occupied. If they don’t get a high enough bid, it opens up to everyone which means investors.

It’s not something you want to try and get around. The fines are big and your not being honest.

i’m a newbie. Looking at some hud homes but u can’t bid unless it will be your primary residence.

Not so. As the previous poster stated, HUD allows owner-occupants only for a set period of time at the beginning. If they fail to get a good enough bid (or get no bids) they then open it up to All Bidders, which is when investors can submit bids.

Also as the previous poster said, you don’t want to try and “get around” the owner-occupied only period (OOOP) as it will eventually catch up to you. I’ve heard HUD makes random visits to homes after they are sold in the OOOP just to make sure they weren’t taken in by an unsrupulous buyer.

thanks for the info guys. i didn’t want to start out doing the wrong thing. i definitely want to be honest. i was just more curious about what would happen if you weren’t a owner occupant.

Also, If i wanted to bid, i would have to work with a real estate agent right? Agent has to put in a bid for me right?

Correct, you have to work with an agent who has registered as a HUD agent in order to submit a bid. It’s a very simple process. The HUD site has a link to find agents in your area. If you’re in St. Louis…I can help.

i was just more curious about what would happen if you weren’t a owner occupant.

The fine is something like $250,000, if I recall, so they are pretty strict about it. But you’d be amazed at the number of people who still do it anyway.