How to not get beat to the punch

I’m a newbie and I’ve been looking for a property to launch my real estate investment portfolio with. I have given my realtor very tight criteria, and I’ve set those same criteria on Redfin. I’m getting immediately notified when something meeting those criteria pops up, but invariably when I ask my realtor to inquire, she comes back with “already under contract” or “in escrow” or “sale pending.” This has happened multiple times in the past month.

Is there some way to find out about these kinda deals before they hit the wire? Any advice?

Our Realtors will tell us if they get a listing we would be interested in. They have a certain time they have to get the listing on the MLS. I think it’s 24 or 48 hrs here. So sometimes you can get a jump like that. Your Realtor should also have a way to search where it will notify them of listings matching your criteria. Maybe expand your parameters some. No matter how active we are, we will inevitably miss out on some. Don’t get discouraged. Persistence will pay off. You could also start your own we buy houses marketing campaign. I’ve never had to do that. Once you establish yourself as an active buyer, deals will be easier to come by.