How To Figure ARV

I’m a newbie learning about Wholesaling. Can someone please explain to me how to figure out the After Repair Value. I know it’s the value of the home after repairs, but where do all the numbers come from? Is it the current value of the home plus the estimated costs of repairs? Thank you!!

Bernard

From what I understand, the ARV is just the comparable value of what the house will sell after repairs. In other words, it is just the value of what the house will sell for.

Example:
Recent Comps of a property:
House 1 = 120k
House 2 = 130k
House 3 = 135k

ARV = 128k

You should then base your offer on the ARV of the property (i.e), if the property needs 20k in repairs. Your offer should be 128 (ARV) * 70% - 20(Repairs) = 69k (Your Maximum Offer)

-Edgar

The only factor I would add is make sure you are getting “real” comps. They should be basically the same type of property as the subject property. They should also be as close as possible. I would try to stay within 1/2 mile if at all possible. Also, make sure they are recent comps. I would try not to go over 6 months.

Peter

Thanks to both of you!! But I need to ask Edgar: The 3 different comps you posted: are they for 3 different houses or just 1 house. Second: how did you come up with an ARV of 128k? Did that number come from the comps? Lastly: how can I get free comps online? I really appreciate this help!!

To answer your questions:

1. 128k is just an average of the three houses.
  2. The numbers are from different houses.
  3. Free comps? Zillow.com, yahoo.com, realtor.com, etc.

Lastly, I DEFINITELY agree with peterv, stay within the subject property to make comps.

-Edgar

THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!

That was a good break down Edgar!

good reply edgar but my question is are you talking about 3 houses that are near each other or in the comparable sales if you went to zillow.com and clicked on comparable sales? that is where im confused at.

Thanks