How To Estimate Value of A Mobile Home Park

Any experts out there know how to estimate the value of a mobile home park that already exists? Do you base it on some sort of rule of thumb when you buy? A certain amount per lot? A certain amount per lot owned trailers? The parks I see listed on loopnet.com seem to be pretty high. Do you base it on a cap rate?

I am new to this mobile home idea. I presently buy stick built rental houses in low income areas and get a 15-20% cap buying wholesale property.

I don’t visit this forum much but I seem to always see valuation questions here. This is just my two cents on the subject in general:

You should ALWAYS value an investment (stock, bond, real estate, pixie dust, or whatever) with discounted cash flows. The model will get more complex with a mobile home park versus a single family home but it’s all the same in the end: How much cash does it throw off after all income and expenses are tabulated? Your discount rate should reflect your cost of capital (CoC) for any financing and your desired ROI. Don’t rely on a simple rule of thumb like CAP or GRM. They are quick and dirty and have their uses but nothing replaces doing the proper homework.

This may not answer the question specifically but I am wondering if anyone has any other thoughts?..

The problem I see with determining value by a real estate investments cash on cash return is it doesn’t help in providing an outlook if you are making a smart financial decision as capitalization rates do once you know what a good CAP rate is in your area or for a mobile home park in general.

The reason cash on cash returns seems to be a little risky to me is if you decrease the cash you put down on a property, your return significantly goes up. The more you decrease it the higher your return is leading to an over leveraged property susceptible to the risks of market fluctuation.