How to determine the value in 8 plex

Hello All,

I have been reading this site for a few months and I need help finding the value of an 8 plex. I just found the building today and I don’t have all the details yet. Here is what I know so far: The building is about 20-25 years old 100% occ with 7 2bd and 1 1bd. The 2bds go for $375 and the 1 bd is $325. I do not now what if any utilities are included in the rent. The roof looks good and the grounds are simple and neat. The unit is located in Ft Wayne, IN with a price of $225K. The owner is willing to carry some of the money. Is there a simple formula you use to determine the basic value of apt bldgs? What cap rates do these things go for? I have some experience in residential and MHPs, but not Apt’s. If the DSCR is at 1.2 and my FICO is over 700 what options do I have for financing and what rate should I expect? I will add details as I get them. BTW, I live in soutnern Ca, but travel to FT Wayne regularly.
Thanks,
Carl

Carl,

Forget about cap rate - it’s useless in my opinion. However, here in Ohio I have a 6 unit with almost identical rents ($375) and I paid $88,000 for the building. Cap rate is 22% (again useless).

Here’s how I’d evaluate the property.

Do a cash flow analysis with the normal expenses (don’t forget any utilities paid by the owner, mowing grass, shoveling snow, and maintaining/cleaning common areas). The positive cash flow MUST be AT LEAST 1/2 of the mortgage payment and be high enough to be worth the hassle (I like $200 per unit per month). Mine has a positive cash flow of almost $12,000 per year and the mortgage payment is only $8,500 per year on a 20 yr term.

This is a decent return but DEFINITELY NOT GREAT! You have higher everything with low income rentals. More evictions, more exterminations, more tenant squabbles, more damage caused by tenants, etc. The cash flow needs to be high enough to account for all of these additional expenses.

Good Luck,

Mike