How to determine market value of a house without access to MLS?

I am new to real estate investing and I have not attempted my first wholesale yet. I wanted to know how can I determine the ARV or how much the host will sell for so I can know if I have a wholesale deal?

Hi,

Only with realtors MLS system comp's!

Without the realtor comp’s you have no accuracy which will cost you as data bases have old, out dated, incorrect, partially correct, data which is undependable when your risking your cash and reputation!

GR

In NJ you can use http://www.njactb.org to get recent sales data. Its not as easy to use as the MLS but it will post ALL sales, not just realtor sales.

Go to the site I provided and click on “Record Search”. The rest is up to you.

Another way to access sales is to access county or city sales data. Much of the time the sales information is available online. But this will not tell you any basic information as to size of the home etc. You need to get that information from the tax assessor’s records. Sometimes this is online. In other cases you would have to contact the assessor directly.

My experience with this method is that it is slow, time consuming and more than often the data is not right on. But, if you cannot get into the MLS then this maybe another option.

I could be wrong, but couldn’t you just use recent sales on Zillow or Trulia to get an idea of comps?

Hi,

Zillow and Trulia are independantly operated data bases, they do not recieve information in real time and the information they recieve is not correct because of the way these site's set up there parameters to recieve and discern data.

You can put your money at risk using anything including a tarot card reader, a physic, flipping a coin or simple because the property looks pretty, my favorite but for me and anyone else who want’s to make money instead of lose money real MLS comps are the only way to absolutely know for sure the real absolute value of any property! Period!!!