How to deal with a Real Estate Agent?

So I found a listing I thought was a FSBO that stated to be very negotiable and said Motivated Seller (two keywords for a potential deal).

I replied via email inquiring about the property. It’s a Brownstone in Brooklyn, NY. Running for $650,000. Come to find out its an Agent listing (sounds so Matrix-ish).

This is my very first time inquiring about a property to invest in and want to pursue this, if for nothing else just the negotiating experience.

Any ideas on how to approach this R.E.Agent?

I am planning on asking the basics and see where it takes me:

1. Why is the owner selling?
  2. What is the home worth?
  3. What are the repairs?
  4. Is it currently an investment or residential? If investment what is the RR?
  5. Are there any liens on the property?

Any assistance would be wonderful!

Thanks!

The Rookie

It sounds like you first need to figure out what you want to do with it: rental or rehab and flip? Once you determine that find out how much the house is worth (CMA, FMV and tax appraisals). If you’re paying full price, then you know the seller really isn’t motivated and you wont be able to flip it for profit. You might find though that it could be a good rental? Good luck and let us know how it turns out.

MannyMo,
I doubt you are going to steal the place unless the agent has no clue. My guess is that the agent is motivated because he has either owned the place for 5 yrs an has sucked out majority of depreciation or he bought it cheap and did a little rehab. If you have a similiar property the agent may be up for 1031 Exchange. Good luck

Hi, since I am a Realtor, maybe I can help. First, in our state, it is a law that realty companies or agents must disclose their relationship with the seller, so I am a bit puzzled by the ad you saw. It sounds as though some relevant information was missing in the ad.