How much money to start REI

Hello All,

Excellent forum, very helpful discussions - Thanks

I’m very new to REI, 1 week & counting and have been reading like crazy. The question I have is as a newbie in REI how much money does one need to get started?

First…establish your goal(s). What do you want to invest in RE for?

Then go and get a book on RE investing, there are plenty of links here on this site. As someone here once said…“run, dont walk to the nearest bookstore…”

A ballpark minimum would be the closing costs or a portion thereof, appraisal fees, earnest money…

But in my opinion you need to do some reading on RE investing, after you figure out your short and longer range goal. That will define the kind of money you will need.

Hello NoMore925,

My short term goals would be to do several “quick cash” type deals to build available investment capital and then get into cashflow. Sorry for sounding like such a newbee! Do you have any recommendations on what books to read and courses that would give me solid foundation in REI?

Thanks in advance

Gandollf:
You can get started very easily by doing the following. Start “Driving For Dollars”. This is what you do. Pick a neighborhood in transition. Drive around and write down the addresses of all the vacant, boarded up or distressed properties. Try to get at least 20 addresses. Then come home and run a title search thru the tax records that should be available online thru your county. If not, sign-up for a service thru someone like Dataquick or First American to run your own title searches and comps.
Then start sending letters out to these people. Make sure to send at least 2-3 letters as the fortune is in the follow-up. You can really be agressive and even attempt to call these owners by looking up their phone numbers on www.reversephonedirectory.com or www.merlindata.com.