How long did it take you to do your first deal?

Hello, I have been doing various forms of marketing for a couple of months now and still have not gotten a deal. :banghead I was just wondering how long it took for everyone out there to get their first deal.

Thanks,
Michelle

Took me a few months… this stuff doesn’t happen overnight.

Michelle,

Once I really dedicated some time to wholesaling property…it took me about 2 months to get a deal. Three weeks later - I received my first check…the rest is history… :smile

What various forms of marketing are you using? Although, getting motivated sellers to call you is the best case scenario, if you want to speed up the process, you need to PUT YOURSELF IN FRONT OF THEM.

1. Knock on the doors of owners in foreclosure
  2. Drive for abandoned, junk houses & contact the owners
  3. Put Bandit Signs Everywhere

Those three strategies alone should bring you enough deals to keep you super busy…

I guess I’m a slacker, because it took me 2 YEARS to get my first deal. That’s from the day I got my Carelton Sheet’s course to the day I closed on my first property (it was a sub2). I didn’t know ANYTHING about real estate, though. Nada.

There is a lot to learn if you are starting from scratch. It takes a lot of time and dedication, but if you are willing to put forth the effort, it is well worth it.

Steph :cool

My first successful short sale took me about 6 weeks to negotiate and close, then a month to rehab and sell. So about 3 months from my first meeting with the homeowner to getting paid at closing.

The note was for $98k. My negotiated short sale price was $50k. And my sale price to the end buyer was for $105k.

GooD LucK! :beer

Hey guys, thanks for responding. I was really frustrated yesterday but your replies reassured me that I am not a loser and that I am on the right track.

I have been using direct mail, bandit signs (on and off), magnetic car signs, sending postcards to vacant homeowners