How is your Property Management company constructed?

Hello,

This forum is informative, well-organized, and very friendly.  I extend my appreciation to its administration and its members!  Thank you for offering such a fine service.

I am very new to real estate investing and have been coming up-to-speed on all that I can over the last 9 months.  As I am starting to gain the confidence and theory-level understanding of real estate and some real estate financing techniques I am taking my first "real" moves.  One of which I could use some help on ...

To those of you who have been investing in long-term holdings, what is an ideal company structure to collect rents, pay-out debt, and manage expenses?  Basically, do you have a single entity (LLC, Corp, 'DBA') that you manage your long-term properties with?  I am looking at creating a business checking account with BofA or Well Fargo (any other ideas?) to have all rents collected, debt paid, maintainance, etc...  

I have heard of investors taking title to property (in a landtrust) and have the beneficial interests in a LLC. Not wanting to put all your eggs in one basket, some investors have several such shell LLCs. I am thinking of constructing is a “master” LLC that would handle the finances of all subsidary entities.

This way, I only need a single checking account for all properties. Plus, there is some asset protection.

I drew a GREAT ASCII art picture to clarify what I am talking about but after 'preview’ing my message it was very very nasty looking! sorry.

How do you do it? Are there any gotcha’s in this idea?

Thank you for your help,

-Erik-

P.S. - I have a friend that collects Rent in the subsidiary LLCs (shells) but now has 4 or 5 such entities with a separate bank account for each. He deals with Section 8s and says its too much of a paper work hastle to redirect everything to a master LLC, but would if he were to do it over again.

Erik,