How far is too far

After you read this question, you’ll know that I’m new to the rental business. How far is too far to have a rental that I plan on being the property mananger. My town is very small (aprox. 7,500), but within 30 minutes, I can tap into other markets. My fear is that someone will call me in the middle of the night and I’ll have to spend half the night just in driving time. Any suggestions?

For me 30 minutes is acceptable.

Monnchew,

I wouldn’t call a 30 minute trip “driving half the night”. I think having rentals 30 minutes away is certainly reasonable, although I wouldn’t want to be much farther than that.

I also would not worry about being called in the middle of the night. It is EXTREMELY rare that I get a call in the middle of the night from anyone. On the couple of occassions that I have gotten such a call, it was from someone looking for an apartment. When that happens, I simply tell them that I’m not renting to someone that is stupid enough that they call in the middle of the night. Then I hang up!

In fact, I don’t get that many calls from tenants with problems at any time. Even with dozens of rentals, I probably only average 3 or 4 calls per week and those are mostly for little things: someone tripped a circuit breaker, locked themselves out of the house, or has a dripping faucet.

Mike

Mike,

Thank you for the great news. I’ve been thinking that I’m out of the game due to my location, but Game On.

Thanks again,

Brian

Hey Mike - that brings up a good question - if someone does something silly and say locks themselves out of a house…do you charge them for that ‘maintenance trip’? Or what if they do it more than once [hard to imagine, eh]?