How does a Land Contract work?

Hello. This is my first time posting in this forum and I think this is the right place for this question…
I have a tenant who is in the process of a divorce. Her ex husband and her are in the middle of trying to sell their home, and she is renting from me. I am thinking of offering to take the home from her under a Land Contract and sell it if she would contract it to me for less than the retail price. Assuming the numbers would work, how would one go about doing a legal Land Contract? Is the mortgage still in the seller’s name?
If anyone could give me an idea of what to expect when doing Land Contract, I would appreciate it.
Thank you
Jay Dee

Individual A owns the property. He/She would like to sell it to Individual B. However, Individual B does not qualify for a loan. A puts B on a land contract agreeing that at the end of a specified period of time they will purchase the property for a previoulsy agreed upon price. At the end of the contract B pays A the price and the property now belongs to B.

Right. So yes, the mortgage is still in the sellers name, untill the end of the agreed upon term and the buyers cashes the seller out. During that time the buyer has tax benefits as they have equitable title and all ownership responsibilities. Seller keeps legal title untill cash out.

How is a land contract and lease option different?

a L/O is just what it says. A lease with the option to buy at a said price and time in the future which only obligates the seller to sell,not the buyer to buy. The seller generally still has landlording responsibilities as they are still the owners until cashed out.
A CFD is considered an actuall sale and purchase from the begining. The seller retains legal title, buyer has equitable title which basically gives them all ownership rights eg… tax beni’s, occupiency upkeep and all repair responsibilities. It works just like a mortgage or trust deed, but the seller is acting as the bank