How did you start? Scouts, Wholesalers, Rehabbers, Note buyers, etc.

How did you guys start out with your investing careers? how much did
you start with?

I started with $35k and added $20k later from my day job. I spent half of it on learning though. first house was a rehab, second is light rehab, the rest very light touches.

Hey Fadiz,

How did you spend half of it on learning? Did you sign-up for courses or something? If so, which one? The reason I’m asking is because there’s another discussion addressing whether or not a particular company is a scam and I’m curious to know if you took courses with that company.

Wow half on learning? Thats a lot of money…

Hello Jason,
I started with 0 . I bought a fixer on contract, nothing down, $268. a month. Purchase price 23,500. Lived ,worked on it for 2 years while working at my day job. Sold it for 117,500. Guess what my day job is now.
Darin

GOD WNZ, how much money did you pour into your house before selling it for $117,000? Sounds like you are doing good. Also, where did you get the no money down note from?

I actually spent $10k on local mentor to attend all courses he offers plus assistant in transactions. I ended up using the mentorship program mainly for networking. In one of his events, I was asked to sit on the panel with some of the biggest investors in town and because of it, I am well known in our local association.

I sent another good $10k on courses I either purchased directly, or purchased off of ebay.

I know many say don’t spend money on courses, and don’t do this or that…etc. I personally believe there is no price high enough on education. I agree don’t go and spend $5k on Legrand course when you can get it for $100 off of ebay, and no it will not teach you everything… but if you get one tip out of every $100 you spend, you are more knowledgable.