How can i get rehab cost without a contractor as a (WHOLESALER)

I’m brand new to real estate investing and i’m starting off just wholesaling properties
and i’m having a hard time getting a hold of good trust worthy rehab contractors

and was wondering how could i come up with good rehab estimates without contractors help
I’m also afraid that if i use them a couple of times and i don’t hire them for the job
then they wouldn’t want to work with me anymore due to me wholesaling properties
instead of doing fix & flips & don’t want to burn any bridges

Has anyone else ran across this problem and could please provide me some good feedback
on how i can move forward and be successful in my REI wholesaling business [/b]

Hi,

Deon your going to need to learn, doesn't have to be perfect but just within a 5% + / - spread. 

You can get a contractor but your likely to pay hundreds of dollars for a damage estimate since you can’t offer or negotiate a cost plus contract.
You need to learn how to calculate both linear and square footage in a room and calculate both labor, materials and overhead.

Spend some time at Home Depot, Lowes and your local supply house learning about finishes, costs and coverage so you start understanding materials costs, then get labor estimates from handymen and contractors / subcontractors on varies specific projects (Work Scope) so you understand labor and overhead.

There is a company called RS Means who compiles construction cost data for the construction industry every year, their residential data books used to be available at Lowes or Home Depot but you can also find them online at RS Means. Their 3 or 4 books that apply to residential housing cost $40 or $50 bucks each.

Make sure you take good measurements and lot’s of photo’s, once you get good at this you will be able to put fairly accurate prices to damages, deferred maintenance and rehab pretty easily.

Good luck,

GR