How can I find mentors in New Jersey?

Seeking a mentor in the Northern, New Jersey area? I am new to real estate (wholesale) and I am finding it very hard to find mentors in this area. The few that have responded to me states real estate is not for everyone and I should try something else.

I have read a lot of books and seeking someone who can guide me on a few deals. I have my buyers list and it is still growing.

Suggestions/answers are greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Hi Tammy,

this is just a personal opinion from another noob on the forum, so take it for what it’s worth…which is nothing. LOL.

I’m sorry to hear about you getting shrugged off. Sometimes, you just can’t work with some people. Now, while there are way that you can vary your behavior to be able to work with more people effectively, there will always be those that you will not be able to work with no matter what you do. In actuality, nor would you want to work with those types of people.

For me, I’m choosing to go it no mentor. I actually look at the great people here as a sort of mentorship group. these folks on here are so generous with their time and knowledge. My only hope to repay them is to become one of the helpful ones as well.

I guess what I’m saying is, don’t let the fact that you don’t have someone there to hold your hand stop you from moving forward. Just be cautious, ask questions here, take action, and correct as you go. I’m sure you are going to make mistakes, but even the most senior member here can’t say that the never made a mistake. In fact I’m sure that there is one or two, if they’re honest, that can admit to still making them after years of success.

Again, this is just my opinion but, to me, success doesn’t come from not making mistakes but from persistence and learning from the mistakes that you will inevitably make.

Good Luck and Happy New Year! Welcome to the Board!

Thanks Rogelio, I needed to hear that. If I have any questions I will certainly use the forum