Homestaging?

Does anyone use homestagers to stage houses after being remodeled? If so, is the price for a homestaging company worth it?

Stagers always say it sells faster and that the ROI is very good, of course they are selling a service so you never know. I’d have to think they are right, the cost isn’t that high and it supposedly it sells the home faster so I think it would work. I’ve seen homes staged that were very nice and definitely made people see what the home could be with good decorating.

As a Realtor, I can tell you that “home-staging” does help sell homes. There aren’t really any stagers in my area (business opportunity), but even halfway decent furniture in a home will help it sell faster. The problem with unfurnished homes is that most buyers need to SEE where they would put their own furniture. For instance you might just assume that a bedroom is too small, until you see it furnished.

Good Luck!

http://realtorjournal.blogspot.com/

Staging does help sell homes faster, and many say, for more money. Hiring a professional stager is great if you’ve got the cash to spare, but not really necessary if you’ve got even a little designer in you.

Get an idea of what staging is (and isn’t). Visit model home open houses. Most should be staged. Visit the modular builders. All their model homes are staged. Last visit your local doublewide dealer as all their homes are staged as well. Get an idea of what you like. Take pictures.

Staging on the cheap. If you’re planning on rehabbing more properties, it pays to stock up furniture, if you have room to store. Check the local papers and weekly yard sales for sofas, chairs, etc. in good condition. Color isn’t as important as you can always use slips to match.
Make ‘beds’ by stacking some cinder blocks and using an old boxspring and a headboard and a good bedspread.