home owner association eminent domain?

Help!!,
I just signed a option contract to buy the remainig land (1.6 acres or so) on an existing condominum complex that will allow me to built eventually arround 50 1-2 bedroom units (4 buildings). The complex was half-built 15 years or so ago and the current owner bought the remaining land and never built.

I am new to commercial property (have only couple of single-family home rentals) so I am not sure what I am getting into in terms of financing/cost and specially in terms of dealing with the existing home owner association. I am trying to decide if exercise teh option to buy or just back off (I have 45 days to do it) .

This is the situation: the HOA association so far is claiming that the land is now theirs in vitue of eminent domain because the owner never took care of the land in 10+ years … the owner claims that he never asked him to do it and he said that his lawyer will take care of it. The question that I have is what type of “legal” documents do I need to get from the HOA or from the owner prior to closing in terms of :

• will I be protected if I get Title insurace in terms of retaining ownership?
  • do I need to get approval from the HOA to build before I buy the property?
  • Do I need to pay HOA maintenance on the land? - who typically maintain that lot before is built?

Anything else to inspect in terms of the cables and water connection I have in the lots?

I’ll appreciate any help on this. Also how do I calculate roughly the cost of building in a multifamily home? How much per square footage? The land seem to be ready to build.

Thanks!!

Okay, some clarification may be needed.
“The complex was half-built 15 years or so ago and the current owner bought the remaining land and never built.” Does the current owner own the land or both the land and the half built complex?