home equity and rehab?

hi people,

i am a carpenter and i bought a house a year ago for me and my wife, it is a fixer upper. I bought the house for 225k and did my own work to it and last week was 1 year that i have been living here i just got it appraised and it was 355k, i almost fell off my chair i was in complete shock… Anyways i am really excited and i have such motivation to do this again, i dont want to sell my house that i live in but i want to buy a fix up home again and fix it up and sell it really quick. I would like to understand the equity process? am i able to take 100k out of my equity to start buying these fix up homes? i know how to look for all off them and i do all the work myself it is all about a money issue for me… what is your opinion on what i should do with all this equity?

if you can get back to me that would be great
aaron

Howdy Aaron:

Several approaches here. Some say never borrow on home to do investments as you could lose your home with a bad deal. Others say get all you can borrow and leverage to the hilt especially while money is cheap. I have gone thru 18% loan times and today is cheap compared to deal we had to do then.

Perhaps somewhere in the middle may suite you best. With your good credit you should be able to borrow $50,000 on your home and get the rest you need from the bank on the house you are going to rehab.

I over borrowed and probably am still, but with my bad credit I have little choice but use hard money lenders at high rates.

I am excited to hear what you have done. Have you posted a success story on the site.

HI TED,
no i have not posted a story here, maybe i will. Ted i understand what you are saying but can you define to me a bad deal just so i know what to expect? like doing to work and not being able to sell it? also you said not to borrow the money from your home, wouldyou agree not to do this to lets say buy a townhouse and rent it out? my credit score is low 700ish, anyways i respect your opinions